Principal Investigator

Photo Steven H. Collins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University
Director, Biomechatronics Laboratory
stevecollins@stanford.edu | @StevenHCollins | website



Postdoctoral Researchers

Photo Alexandra (Sasha) Voloshina, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering
Ph.D. Kinesiology and Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan
svoloshina@stanford.edu



Doctoral Students

Photo Gwendolyn Bryan
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of New Mexico
gbryan@andrew.cmu.edu


Photo Julia Butterfield
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering; Stanford Graduate Fellow; NSF Fellow
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Notre Dame
jbutterf@stanford.edu


Photo Vincent Chiu
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of California Santa Barbara
vlchiu@stanford.edu


Photo Stuart Diller
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering; co-advised with Carmel Majidi
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Virginia
sdiller@andrew.cmu.edu


Photo Patrick Franks
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Biomedical Engineering, Northwestern University
pfranks@andrew.cmu.edu


Photo Stefan Klein
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of California Berkeley
scklein@andrew.cmu.edu


Photo Thu Nguyen
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering; NSF Fellow
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Cornell University
tmn33@stanford.edu


Photo Katherine Poggensee
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering; NSF Fellow; co-advised with Koushil Sreenath
B.S. Mathematics, B.S. Movement Science, University of Michigan
ktpognc@stanford.edu


Photo Guan Rong Tan
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.Eng. Engineering Product Development, Singapore University of Technology and Design
guanrong@stanford.edu


Photo Kirby Ann Witte
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering; NSF Fellow
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of New Mexico
kwitte@andrew.cmu.edu



Masters Students

Photo Kevin Wang
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Toronto
kcwang@andrew.cmu.edu



 
 
Alumni
 
 

Doctoral Student Alumni

Photo Rachel Jackson, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Rice University
rachelj@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford


Photo Juanjuan Zhang, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Electrical Engineering, Nanyang Technological University
juanjuan.jj.zhang@foxmail.com
Now an Associate Professor at Nankai University


Photo Myunghee Kim, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Hanyang University, M.S. KAIST, M.S. MIT
myunghek@andrew.cmu.edu, website
Now a Postdoctoral Research Associate at Harvard


Photo Josh Caputo, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, B.S. Electrical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon
jmcaputo@andrew.cmu.edu
Now President of HuMoTech



Postdoctoral Alumni

Photo Pieter Fiers, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Mechanical Engineering
Ph.D. Science, University of Antwerp; Ph.D. Physical Education, Ghent University, Belgium
pfiers@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a Postdoctoral Assistant at the Sport Science Laboratory at Ghent University


Photo Philippe Malcolm, Ph.D.
Visiting from Ghent University, Belgium
philippe.malcolm@ugent.be
Now an Assistant Professor at University of Nebraska, Omaha




Project-Based Masters Student Alumni

Photo Tyler Del Sesto, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Brown University
tdelsest@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at JPL


Photo Evan Dvorak, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering & Applied Mechanics, University of Pennsylvania
evan.dvorak@gmail.com
Now at Apple


Photo Blair Emanuel, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Olin College of Engineering
blair.j.emanuel@gmail.com
Now at JPL


Photo James Gabriel, M.S.
M.S. Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, B.S. Biomedical Engineering, Duke University
jamescgabriel@gmail.com
Now at Disney Imagineering R&D


Photo Kyle Rawding, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Harvard College
kylr1032@gmail.com
Now at Physical Sciences Inc.


Photo Tianjian Chen, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.E. Mechanical Design, Manufacturing and Automation, Huazhong University
chen.tianjian@outlook.com
Now a Ph.D. student at Columbia University


Photo Mailing Wu, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Biomedical Engineering, Columbia University
mailing.r.wu@gmail.com
Now at Lutron Electronics


Photo Biju Obi, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Biomechanical Engineering, Stanford University
oobi@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Westinghouse


Photo Roberto Quesada, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
roberto.quesada@gmail.com
Now at the Wyss Institute


Photo Rohan Krishnan, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
rohankri@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Lutron Electronics


Photo Tianyao Chen, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
chentianyao@gmail.com
Now a Ph.D. student at Catholic University



Visiting Project-Based Masters Student Alumni

Photo Robert Peuchen
Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
r.j.peuchen@student.tudelft.nl
Now a Master's Student at T.U. Delft
 


Photo Jan Warnaars
Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
jan_warnaars@hotmail.com
Now a Ph.D. student at T.U. Delft
 


Photo Michiel Plooij, Ph.D.
Visiting Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
m.c.plooij@student.tudelft.nl
Now a Postdoc at T.U. Delft
 


Photo Laurent Huberty
Visiting Masters, Mechanical Engineering
l.h.huberty@student.tudelft.nl
Now at Hyosung
 




Independent Undergraduate Research Alumni

Photo Andreas Fatschel
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering
amfatschel@gmail.com
Now a Masters student at Carnegie Mellon
 


Photo Scott Landes
Undergraduate Student, IMB Program, Mechanical Engineering
scotttlandes@gmail.com
Now a Masters student at Carnegie Mellon
 


Photo Hannah Lyness
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
hlyness@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a Masters student in Robotics at Carnegie Mellon
 


Photo Sean Archie
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
sarchie@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission
 


Photo Stephanie Chen
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
swc1@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Medtronic
 


Photo Noah Fox
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ntfox@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at JPL
 


Photo Russell Kirmayer, M.S.
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
B.S. Applied Physics, Carnegie Mellon University
russellkir@gmail.com
Now at Formlabs


Photo Faith Quist
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University & German Studies
fquist@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Key Tech
 


Photo Mike Spinelli
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
mspinell@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Strong Arm Technologies
 


Photo Elena Yasinski
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
elenayasinski@gmail.com
Now at Intralox
 


Photo Lizmarie Comenencia Ortiz
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
lcomenen@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a graduate student at Stanford
 


Photo Jessica Lee
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jessicalee@cmu.edu
Now a graduate student at UCLA
 


Photo Ruthika
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
ruthika@cmu.edu
Now at a private geological engineering company
 


Photo Jayon Wang
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jayonw@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Shell and Harvard
 


Photo Robert Wojno
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
rwojno@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Audi
 


Photo Jon Boerner
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jboerner@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at MathWorks
 



Masters Student Alumni

Photo Jack Kaplan
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
jakaplan@andrew.cmu.edu


Photo Tanuf Tembulkar
Masters Student, Biomedical Engineering
B.E. Biomedical Engineering, Stony Brook University
ttembulk@andrew.cmu.edu


Photo Winton Zheng
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.S. Energy and Power Engineering, Dalian University of Technology
wintonzheng0325@gmail.com


Photo Zach Batts
Masters Student, Robotics Institute
ztbatts@gmail.com
Now a graduate student in the Robotics Institute


Photo Ben Matzke
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
ben.matzke@gmail.com
Now at 4moms


Photo Kanchi Nayaka
Masters Student, Mechanical Engineering
B.E. Mechanical Engineering, Visvesvaraya Tech
kmandyam@andrew.cmu.edu



Undergraduate Student Alumni

Photo Emily Broude
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering
ebroude@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Gustavo Costa
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
gcosta@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Cecilia Morales
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Robotics Institute
cgmorale@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Tim Barber
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
tbarber@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Shalani Stockton
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering
sstockto@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Henry Peck
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
hpeck@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Natalie Kronfli
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
nkronfli@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Alvan Mbongo
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
ambongo@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Michelle Mann
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
mamann@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Wentao He
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
wentaoh@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Alec Assaad
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
aassaad@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Alvan Mbongo
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
ambongo@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Eric Volk
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
evolk@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Roberto Jaime Garza
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
rjaimega@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Patrick Sumner
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
psumner@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Anne Alcasid
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
aalcasid@andrew.cmu.edu
Now a graduate student in Biomedical Engineering


Photo Julie Rekant
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
jrekant@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Jordan Zile
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
jzile@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Nicole Huang
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
nwhuang@andrew.cmu.edu
 


Photo Eli Zauner
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
ejz@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Procter & Gamble


Photo Mark Erazo
Advanced Graduate Program, Mechanical Engineering
merazo@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at CMACS


Photo Steve Pepin
Advanced Graduate Program, Mechanical Engineering
spepin@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Microsoft


Photo Sarah Kunka
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
skunka@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at Chrysler


Photo Matt Stanton
Undergraduate Student, Mechanical Engineering
mjstanto@andrew.cmu.edu
Now at his startup, Sole Power



Professional Alumni

Photo Soongeun Cha
Laboratory Engineer
soongeun.cha@gmail.com
Now at U. Pittsburgh